Bloom where you’re planted…

Many of times I read where someone is enjoying life and what they are doing and then they make a statement like ” I want to voluteer in Africa because I enjoy helping people” What happen to helping right where you are planted!

Why do people think that Africa is the place to be? I think if someone wanted to help someone they should look in the community where they live! There are so many people that are living on the bare strings of their incomes, there are children needing parents but don’t have them to look up to and some of these organizations are needing people to donate some of their TIME to help out. One such organization is Big Brothers/Big Sister organization. This is where one can go sit with a child during a lunch time and become a friend with them. There are other opportunities just talk with the people in charge and they can help set up something with your schedule.

Nursing homes is another place where they need volunteers to help write a letter, or just to visit, so many people don’t know how to react to a situation they stay away and consequently the person in the nursing home is starving for affection, a hug, or just visit from a caring person.

I know that nursing homes aren’t for everyone but if you even attend church and know someone is actually struggling, a bag of groceries left on door step is fun way to let someone know that someone cares about them. Or sticking some cash in their purse when they aren’t looking or purchasing snow boots for someone that is need of them. The list goes on just think out of the box.

Last Christmas we had a man come out to the house to do some contruction work for us. In the course of the conversation, he mentioned how someone he knew was having work done and someone had come in and stole $600 dollars they has set aside to pay for this work. Well I decided right on the spot to help with this and told the gentlemen that I wanted to remain annoymousness. It was great feeling knowing that I was helping and I didn’t care who it was as we are all children of God and I feel we are all down here going to school to learn how to get along with one another and to help one another. So I try to look around me and see how I can help. Just this past week a young teenager came up and told me she was short twenty cents to purcahse a foam board for a school project and could I help her. So I reached in my pocket and pulled out some money for her.

There may be a time in your life, that you may need something and you will be glad that you were able to help someone and now it will be time for someone to help you out. It may not be in monetary form but just a hand reaching out to help you in someway. There is song that saids count your many blessing and see what the Lord has done for you. It is countless to think of all the small things people have done for you. Did you think to smile at all those you met today. You will be surprised how much better you feel. Be a source of inspiration for someone and be of good cheer. So I hope you will try to bloom will you are planted and that I have said something to help you along your path today.

Leave a Reply

