S’mores with a Twist

I think these could be a little bit more healthy then regular S’mores. It happen quite accident. We had company over for a cookout and was going to roast marshmallow and make S’mores around the campfire.

I had baked some chocolate chip oatmeal cookies. So our guest used the two cookies and put the roasted marshmallow and Hersey Chocolate square and created his own version of a S’more.

This Memorial weekend I am entertaining two days in a row. So I am using my Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe. I made them a little bigger than I normally do. I also put less chocolate chip so the cookies wouldn’t crumble as much. Here’s my recipe:

1 cup butter                           1 -1/3 cup white flour

1 cup white sugar                  1 tsp soda

½ cup brown sugar                1 tsp. salt

2 eggs                                    1 cup of chocolate chips (normally I use 2c.)

2 tsp vanilla                            2 cups quick oats

Cream together butter & sugar; add eggs and vanilla stir together.  Stir together the dry ingredients and add to the above mixture, beating well.  Stir in chips and oats. Drop by Tablespoons on to greased baking sheet.  Bake at 375 degrees for 10 minutes or until lightly brown.  Cool before packing them in cookie tin.

My finished product:

Chocolate chip Oatmeal Cookies

I think next time I might replace my chocolate chips with silvered almonds or crushed nuts. May you enjoy your company this weekend.  Please remember our veterans that have served to keep our country free and those still serving.

Leave a Reply

