Share My World ~ 29 June 2017

Challenge Response to ‘What are your Goals?’ (Share your World or SYW)

What goal are you working on now?  I wanted to be healthy, so I prayed about it. Then a lady at church told  me her sister’s Doctor wanted her to try this certain diet. So I decided to try it as well. Well it didn’t last long for me as it consisted of all salads and assorted beans of your liking. I got sick of it and now have hard time eating salads.

Then in early November of last year, I follow a blog called 100 days of Real Food, I didn’t pay a lot of attention to it until after Christmas, as it seemed to be more geared towards young children lunch boxes.  My children are grown and have children of their own. Anyhow they offered 6 week course for $15 so I decided to try it. They took you off of processed food one week at time. I never thought about cereal in box being processed. So my eyes were open. I lost 10lbs and then started walking and lost the next 10 lbs. Looking forward to loosing more. So two goals here are being healthy and exercising, which I choose walking. I feel better and have more energy. Don’t have to count calories just be more particular in what I eat or don’t eat. I have switched over and and it is great.

What is one thing you’re glad you tried but would never do again?. When I go to Mexican restaurants, I don’t care for the meats they use in their meal choices, so I tend to stay away from meat dishes and go for cheese dishes instead. I found that one of my other friends feels the same way I do. Which was amazing to me.

Did you choose your profession or did it choose you?  I went to school to be an Interior Decorator, but got married and did not pursue my degree. After I was married the second time, I needed a job but it was when computers were coming in and I didn’t know how to run them. The Illinois job service offered classes to learn how to use computer so I took up their offer. The first job I applied for was at library. I did not know I would be there for 20 or more years and I am still there. I started in Tech department entering data into the card catalog, later I felt prompted to change to the reference department.

I found out that I love teaching people how to use the computer and have also taught people how to do family history. Being crafty I also taught some other classes as well such as how to make a bracelet or necklace. Even thou I am in the Reference Department, I wear many hats. I also do Interlibrary Loan, Teach Classes, Help in Genealogy Room and show people how to get around in there, I find books or articles people need. I love my job and love helping people.

Have you ever gotten lost? yes I have gotten lost, but I am not afraid to stop and ask how to get on my way.

 Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?  I am grateful that even thou I mess up that I can pick myself up and brush myself off and forgive myself.

This coming week I am looking forward to getting day off to get my house back in order. Been painting and ripping up carpet and the whole house is at stand still till we get this one room put back together again. 

 

 

 

  1. Create a SYW  post.  Then post the link to your blog in my comment box or leave your answers in the comments box of my blog.
  2. To make it easy for others to check out your photos, title your blog post “Share Your World” or “SYW” tag.
  3. Remember to Follow My Blog to get your weekly reminders.

 

Leave a Reply

