Share Your World ~ 8th January 2018

Do you prefer a bath or shower? I definitely like a shower, I don’t like soaking in tub that is not my cup of tea.

What do you do to make a living or during the day? I am unfortunately still working full-time, but hoping to retire at the end or beginning of next year. I sometimes feel like just kicking the bucket and quitting now, but I am trying to wait until it is really my turn to quit on account of my birth year.

So what do I do for a living?  I have been a public librarian for the past 20 years.  I am reference clerk and wear many hats. I download the local newspaper on daily basis, I help people in the computer lab with assorted request, I find books that people want to read, I help people with their genealogy request which is my favorite thing to do. But lately many of our newspapers have gone digitally, so they can look them up themselves online and we aren’t called on to look them up for them as much.   I have been an Art show coordinator for the past 8 years.I also taught variety of classes at the library such as jewelry class, genealogy classes, computer classes, software classes, card making classes. I have also gone out in the community to give programing about the library and the services we provide.

If you are retired what mostly occupies your day? Or if you are a student what are you studying? I am not a student but we have free Gale Online Courses we can take through our library website. I just recently signed up for two classes. I have been wanting to learn how to talk to people that are deaf that come into the library. I know a little sign language that my grandfather taught me when I was younger and I know how to say thank you as one of my deaf patron showed me how to sign for that.. The other class I am going to take is in March, it is called Mindfulness. I can’t remember what it is about presently. Just looked interesting.

Is there a stuffed animal in your bedroom? No stuff animals in my bedroom. Don’t like a lot of little stuff taking up room when I am ready to get into bed.

What inspired you or what did you appreciate this past week?  Over the Christmas holiday we went to visit my daughter. I decided to make cookies for her and her family. While trying to spread the icing on my cut out  cookies I actually used a paint brush. Then I had this desire to look further into how to decorate cookies. So I recently checked a book out at the library which I would now like to obtain for future use. It is called ” The Complete Photo Guide to Cookie Decorating 

I never realized that decorating cookies is a specialty art too. Just recently I was watching someone using fondant to decorate baby blocks made from cake and all the measurements and care that was going into this project that someone had ordered for their baby shower.. It was a WOW experience for me.

 

Leave a comment